Cradle Coast Regional Tourism Transition

Tourism Tasmania, Cradle Coast Authority, Tourism Industry Council Tasmania.

Tourism Tasmania has established a transition committee to determine the future governance structure of the Cradle Coast regional tourism organisation (RTO).

The committee is made up of representation from key stakeholders and will be chaired by Sue Smith.

Jan Bonde will represent the Cradle Coast Authority and Vin Barron will represent the Tourism Industry Council of Tasmania.

Will Barbour will sit on the committee as an industry representative, along with Tourism Tasmania T21 Director Mark Jones.

“Strong support and representation for the Cradle Coast region is vital to a healthy Tasmanian visitor economy,” Mr Jones said.

“I am confident that the transition committee headed up by Sue Smith will secure the right balance of autonomy for the RTO as well as supporting the strategies and priorities of the region, industry and government.”

Cradle Coast Authority CEO Daryl Connelly said:

“The people who have been appointed to the transition committee are all very highly regarded and I thank them for their willingness to contribute to the industry and to our region in this way.

“During my time at the Cradle Coast Authority, I have enjoyed very effective working relationships with Tourism Tasmania, TICT and the industry more broadly and I am confident that that will continue”.

TICT CEO Luke Martin said:

“This transition committee is an important step towards establishing a regional tourism structure in the north-west that our industry can have confidence in and can get on with the job of delivering outcomes for the region’s tourism operators and local economy.

“There has been a lot of water go under the bridge on this matter, but we’ve got some outstanding people coming together in this committee to look forward and establish a structure all stakeholders can hopefully get behind.”

The first meeting of the transition committee will be Tuesday 4 December 2018.

The Government provides direct funding for the State’s four regional tourism organisations.

30 November 2018