Our Board

< Previous | Contents | Next >

Tourism Tasmania operates under the Tourism Tasmania Act 1996 and is governed by a board appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister.

James Cretan

As chair of the Tourism Tasmania Board, James oversees the agency’s strategic direction and plays a significant role in communication with government and industry including his membership of the Premier’s Visitor Economy Advisory Council. James is an executive director and chair of Kriticos Nominees, a family company that owns and operates Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, Swansea Beach Chalets, Shoreline Hotel and Tasmanian Collection Service. He is a director and chair of the Plastic Fabrications Group, a manufacturer and supplier of a wide range of plastic and related products to the aquaculture, marine and civil industries, and is also an owner and director of Intuit Technologies, Tasmania’s largest private ICT company. He was a director of TAFE Tasmania from 2004 and chair from January 2006 to May 2008 before becoming chair of The Tasmanian Skills Institute and in 2017 he was independent chair of the Tourism and Hospitality Workforce Development Taskforce.

Brett Torossi

Brett is the chair of Tourism Tasmania’s Audit Finance and Risk Committee. She is founder, owner and managing director of New Ground Network. As a respected property developer and businesswoman, she focuses on creating and developing properties that are innovative, sustainable and commercially successful. Brett’s other board appointments include; director, Wallis Watson Capital Ltd; director, Avalon Coastal Retreat Pty Ltd; director, Tasmanian Development Board; ‘non-singing’ director, The Festival of Voices; chair, Tasmanian Heritage Council; trustee, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery; chair, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery Audit Committee; chair and director, International Women’s Forum; and director of the National Board of Creative Partnerships Australia.

John Fitzgerald

John is chief executive officer of Tourism Tasmania joining the organisation in January 2013. He has had an extensive career in senior executive management positions in the tourism industry in Australia, having held positions at national, State/Territory and regional levels over the past 15 years, following a decade in the thoroughbred racing industry. Previous to his appointment at Tourism Tasmania, John held the position of CEO at Tourism NT following senior appointments in his native Queensland, including as CEO of Tourism Sunshine Coast. John’s experience and contribution in the sector has extended to numerous board memberships and directorships including currently with the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse (ATDW) and previously through the NT Major Events Company, the Darwin Waterfront Corporation, the Queensland Tourism Industry Council and he chaired the national Indigenous Tourism Working Group.

Kate Vale

Kate has enjoyed a hugely distinguished career spanning almost twenty years in some of the most prestigious digital environments in the world. Most recently Kate was with Spotify as managing director of Australia and New Zealand where she was responsible for all aspects of the business for the region, managing a team in Sydney for close to six years. In 2002, prior to joining Spotify, Kate was Google’s first regional hire heading up the Australian and New Zealand business before moving to head up YouTube in-region in 2009. Kate is also currently a non-executive director of Tourism Australia.  Kate relocated her family to Los Angeles in 2016 where she currently resides.

Simon Currant

Simon is the visionary and developer behind some of Tasmania’s and Australia’s most celebrated tourism experiences including Cradle Mountain Lodge, Franklin Manor, Strahan Village, Gordon River Cruises, Peppermint Bay, Hobart Cruises and his latest venture, a wilderness retreat within the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area, Pumphouse Point. In 2010, Simon was appointed the inaugural chairman of the Tourism Quality Council of Australia (TQCA).  Simon was chairman of the Tourism Industry Council Tasmania for 16 years and continues as a director, and is a former long-term director of TT-Line. A Churchill Fellow, he was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001 and was named Tasmanian of the Year in 2004. In 2006, Simon was honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia for services to the community and the Tasmanian tourism industry. Simon consults both nationally and internationally, providing expert advice in operations, new destination evaluation, market evaluation and product concept development.

Michelle Cox

Michelle is the global chief operating officer of marketing and communications agency group Bastion. With 20 years of leadership, Michelle has a demonstrated track record in growing returns across Australia, Asia Pacific and global markets. With multi-national experience in marketing, communications, travel and tourism, Michelle applies entrepreneurial thinking to find creative solutions for her clients. Previous appointments include managing director Asia Pacific for STA Travel and general manager marketing for the APT Group. Michelle has held executive and board appointments including executive director - Bastion EBA, chair of the Australian Tourism Export Council (ATEC) – Northern Territory; deputy chair, Central Australian Tourism Industry Association (CATIA) and as director of Asia Pacific London with STA Global Leadership Board.

Rebecca King

Rebecca is a multi-award winning tourism online marketing specialist who has worked in small business, state government, the airline industry, and media. She is currently director of her own national tourism digital marketing company Kingthing Marketing.  Rebecca held the position of marketing manager at Tamar River Cruises, winning the company nine awards including Tasmanian Tourism Awards and the Telstra Business Award for Innovation. In 2006 she was awarded Telstra Tasmanian Corporate Business Woman of the Year.  Her business Kingthing Marketing won the 2014 Tasmanian Tourism Award for Education and Training and in 2015, Rebecca won gold in the prestigious 2014 Australian Tourism Awards in the Education and Training category. Rebecca is a founding member of the Girls Gone Riding cycling group who raise funds for underprivileged communities.

< Previous | Contents | Next >