Our Board 2013-14

< Previous | Contents | Next >

Annual Report 2013-1

Board of Directors

Tourism Tasmania operates under the Tourism Tasmania Act 1996 and is governed by an eight-member Board appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister. At the time of writing the position of chair and two board positions are vacant.

Grant Hunt

Grant Hunt was Chairman of Tourism Tasmania Board of Directors from June 2011 to May 2014. Grant is Executive Chairman of Anthology, a boutique nature based tourism management and marketing company and of Hunt Tourism Services, a tourism advisory business, both of which he owns and operates. He has  held a number of board roles in the past including as Chairman of Tourism Northern Territory, as a Director of Tourism Australia, ATEC, the Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park Board of Management, and Voyages Hotels and Resorts. He holds Masters of Management Degree, Bachelor of Education Degree and Diploma  of Physical and Health Education from the University of Wollongong.

Brett Torosi

Brett is currently the Chair of Tourism Tasmania's Audit Finance and Risk Committee and is Acting Chair of the Tourism Tasmania board. She is founder, owner and managing director of New Ground Network. As a respected property developer and businesswoman, she focuses on creating and developing properties  that are innovative, sustainable and commercially successful.  Brett's board appointments include Wallis Watson Capital Ltd, an unlisted property development company based in Victoria, the Tasmanian Development Board, and The Festival of Voices. She is also a Commissioner on the Tasmanian Planning  Commission, a Trustee of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Chair of the Tasmanian Cultural Policy Steering Group and holds a position on the National Board of Creative Partnerships Australia.

John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald is CEO of Tourism Tasmania. He has had an extensive career in senior executive management positions in the tourism industry in Australia, having held positions at national, State/Territory and regional levels over the past 15 years, following a decade in the thoroughbred racing industry.  Previous to his appointment at Tourism Tasmania in 2013, John held the position of CEO at Tourism NT and was responsible for all aspects of the agency's strategy and operations. John has held numerous board, committee memberships and Directorships including with the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse  (ATDW), NT Major Events Company, the Darwin Waterfront Corporation, the Queensland Tourism Industry Council and he chaired the national Indigenous Tourism Working Group.

Kimberly Seagram

Kimberly Seagram is co-owner and co-developer of the award-winning Stillwater River Café, Restaurant and Wine Bar in Launceston and Black Cow Bistro. She is currently Deputy Chair of Brand Tasmania, and Chair of the Launceston, Tamar and the North Zone Marketing Group. Prior to Stillwater, Kim and  her husband owned and operated Lalla Gully Vineyard and Ripples Café in the Pipers River region of north-east Tasmania. Prior to living in Tasmania, Kim held a number of positions in the Canadian tourism industry in operations, sales and promotion.

Simon Currant

Simon Currant is Chairman of the Tourism Industry Council Tasmania, a Director of TT-Line and leading developer and operator of tourism infrastructure. He is also a member of the Events Committee for the Tourism Tasmania Board. Simon has won national and state Best Small Business awards, a Churchill  Fellowship, was state winner and national finalist in the 2004 Entrepreneur of the Year, and was the 2004 Tasmanian of the Year. In 2006 Simon was honoured with a Member of the Order of Australia Award, for service to the community and the Tasmanian tourism industry.

Dallas Newton

Dallas Newton runs a tourism consultancy advising on sales, marketing and distribution strategies for Australian operators with global distribution. He previously owned and was Managing Director of APT Day Tours in Sydney and Melbourne. Prior to that, Dallas was the Director of Sales and Marketing  with APT Pacific Touring between 2001 and 2006. Dallas holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) from RMIT. He has held positions on the Tourism Australia, Western Hemisphere Market Advisory Board; Tourism Australia, Indian Market Advisory Board (2011); and Victoria University Program Advisory Committee  Marketing Faculty as well as formal board positions on APT and AATKings. Dallas is currently a member of Tourism Tasmania's Audit Finance and Risk Committee.

Mark Kelleher

Mark Kelleher was a member of the Board from July 2012 to April 2014. Mark was Secretary of the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and the Arts and Chief Executive of the Tasmanian Development Board. He is also a member of the Ten Days on the Island Board, the Tasmanian Renewable Energy Industry  Development Board, and the Tasmanian Infrastructure Advisory Council. Mark was Managing Director of Roaring 40s, an Australian-based renewable energy company developing and operating wind farms in Australia, China and India, from September 2005 until May 2009. During this time he was also a board member  of the Australian Clean Energy Council.  Mr Kelleher has a Bachelor of Commerce (University of Tasmania) and is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. He is also a graduate of the senior executive program at London Business School.

Karen Scott Davie

Karen Scott Davie was a member of the Board from March 2012 to May, 2014. Karen is a Director of the CIO Advisory Board of Australia and a former Chief Information Officer of NSW Business Chamber. Karen is recognised as one of Australia's high profile speakers and leading training providers and has  travelled the world teaching business people leadership and communication skills. Karen has trained and presented in Alaska, Chicago, New York, Hong Kong, Europe, London, Hawaii and around Australia and has also written for papers including the Australian Financial Review. Karen is a Fellow of the  Institute of Chartered Accountants and holds a Bachelor of Economics. She is member of Australian Institute of Management, Director of Read to Lead and on the Board at the Hills Grammar School.

< Previous | Contents | Next >